My Homemade Wipes

Have you ever noticed how much you may spend on wipes?  Like, really sat down and did the math?  It’s absurd!  I cannot believe how much I was spending on something so simple, yet such a necessity.Here are my family’s calculations with two kids in diapers (this was done last year when my almost 3yo was being potty trained):
Huggies fragrance free 600 sheets     $11.97 x twice a month = $23.94
Wipes twice a month for one year           $23.94 x 12 months = $287.28
I’d much rather spend that money on other things, not wipes!!
And we really only had one child in diapers.  Could you imagine what we were spending when our two youngest ones were in diapers???I was determined to find a way around this madness.  And I did.Here is what I now spend on wipes (the whole family uses wipes – hey!  They’re just like Charmin Freshmates – why not?):Viva paper towels (once every three months)

$12.49 x one year supply = $49.96
Baby wash (dollar tree)                                               $1 x one year supply = $1
Baby oil (dollar tree)                                                      $1 x one year supply = $1

Total for one year                                                          approximately $52

That is much more like it!!

That’s $235 in savings per year!!
It’s so easy to make your own wipes!Here is what I use and how I do it:

Picture

  • 1 roll of paper towels – select a size for shorter wipes (I use Viva, but have also used Target brand, Walmart brand, and Bounty which all work great, just use a little less water!)
  • 1 serrated knife
  • 14 oz (just under 2 cups) distilled or filtered water
  • 2 Tablespoon of baby wash
  • 1 Tablespoon of baby oil (or coconut oil)
  • 1 container to put wipes in 
Step 1
Cut the roll of paper towels in half with the serrated knife and remove the inner cardboard.
Picture(Due to a bad shoulder, I let my husband do the cutting and he usually does several rolls at once which allows me to make the wipes at my leisure.  I just store these in my cabinet above my microwave with the other wipes ingredients for later use.)
Step 2

Mix the 2 tablespoons of baby wash and the 1 tablespoon of baby oil in the 2 cups of water.  Place the lid on top, and gently swish until bubbles form.
Picture
Step 3
Place the half roll of paper towel into the water with the jagged edge down.  Place the lid on top and leave for a few hours (this allows the paper towels to absorb all of the water).
Flip the container upside down for about thirty minutes to allow even distribution of the water.
Picture
Step 4
Pull from the top inside, and voila!  Homemade wipes!  That easy!Since our whole family prefers to use wipes at times, I make several smaller containers of wipes for the four bathrooms in our house.  I just re-use those big yogurt tubs and clearly mark them ‘Wipes’.Picture
I also keep some in my diaper bag.  They aren’t just good for diaper changes.  I use them for boogies, dirty hands, to wipe off counters when we go out, etc.  You’re a mom – you know!I also use the wipes for cleaning purposes (sometimes) when I’m at home.  I use them to wipe off the fans, dust the flat surfaces, etc.
Do you make your wipes different than this?  Do you have other purposes for your wipes?Please, share with us!

One thought on “My Homemade Wipes”

Leave a Reply

